I took to you like cotton
With heart-shaped leaves growing in the sunlight
Softly floating over your daydreams
Passing you by in a warm summer breeze

I gave you hope like fiber spun
Kept the moon aglow
Even after all you’ve done
I let the love still flow

I took to you like electrostatic
Blue lightning in my wing
Racing across your ever clear eyes
The way mountains pierce the top of skies (to see what you have seen)

I gave you melancholy shaped pillows
In everfields growing green
Vivid color for your rainbow
To keep you feeling lean
Kept your secrets in stow

© Delia Ross. 2021 /@poeeternal

Little side fact: I was born in the cotton capital of the world! Good ole Greenwood, Mississippi. I am a southern belle. 😚

This poem is kind of all over the place but I just needed to write something after the last 48 hours I’ve had. Phew.

Still love the dude. Welp.

I would apologize for having a meltdown today but like enemies…

I may likely have another meltdown or 3 but hey it’s better than dying on the street like Poe!!

But also, the story of Romeo and Juliet was not filled with roses. It was filled with poison. Love is dirty.

My Dollskill dress arrived in this cute packaging today. And yeps. 👍

Thanks for sticking around!


My LinkTree will take you places: https://linktr.ee/poeeternal